AKUSMATA POLYPHONIC 2020

Sound Art and Electronic Music weeks

Venue: Vuotalo Cultural Centre & Akusmata, Helsinki

  1. – 31.1.2020

17 days of adventurous music and sound art for adventurous minds!

AKUSMATA POLYPHONIC is an intensive sound art and electronic music event at Vuotalo Cultural Centre and Akusmata gallery in Helsinki. Invited musicians and sound artists are from Nordic countries, North America and Finland, offering for the audience a wide spectrum of new sonic expression from the fields of experimental electronic music, sound art and ambient. The program includes electronic music, do-it-yourself musical instruments, sound performances, and improvised music. Sound installations are open in the Vuotalo gallery and Akusmata gallery. The producer of the event is Akusmata, the first sound art gallery in Finland. The program and updates will be published at akusmata.com and Akusmata’s facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Akusmata. The Nordic artists are visiting as a part of the Puls concert program / Nordic Culture Fund.


CONCERT 1

Friday 17.1.2020 at 19:00

Place: Vuosali (Vuotalo), Mosaiikkitori 2, Helsinki

Performers:

Jacob Kirkegaard (DK)

Halldór Úlfarsson (IS) & Max Lilja duo

[ówt krì] & Lauri Peltonen

* * *

CONCERT 2

Saturday 18.1.2020 at 19:00

Place: Vuosali (Vuotalo), Mosaiikkitori 2, Helsinki

Performers:

Niels Lyhne Løkkegaard (DK)

Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir (IS)


EXHIBITION 1: ‘Earth.Water.Air.Fire’

Place: Vuotalo Gallery (Vuotalo), Mosaiikkitori 2, Helsinki.

Time: 14. – 25.1.2020 (during Vuotalo’s opening hours)

-Sound works by

Jukka Andersson

Ava Grayson (CAN)

Ana Gutieszca (MEX)

Mikko H. Haapoja

Esa Kotilainen

Petri Kuljuntausta

Heikki Lindgren

The exhibition is co-produced by Frekvenssi association.


EXHIBITION 2: ‘Kinaesthetic Poetry’ (with KuNuKu Choir)

Sound installation by Jaakko Autio

Place: Akusmata gallery, Tukholmankatu 7 K, Helsinki.

Time: 17. – 31.1.2020

Open: Mon to Fri between 14.00-18.00. Weekends 11.00-16.00.
(Closed 25-26.1).

Free entry

Sound installation is part of international Art’s birthday event on Fri 17.1.2020 at 17-20.


Supported by Nordisk Kulturfond / Puls, Kordelin Foundation and Vuotalo Cultural Centre.

Vuotalo exhibition is co-produced by Frekvenssi association.

Curated by Petri Kuljuntausta & Kenneth Kovasin / Akusmata Sound Gallery.


Contact

Akusmata

Tukholmankatu 7 K, 00270 Helsinki

galleria.akusmata@gmail.com

akusmata.com

* * *

Vuotalo Cultural Centre

Mosaiikkitori 2, 00980 Helsinki

http://www.vuotalo.fi/en/about-us


WEB

Jacob Kirkegaard (DK), http://fonik.dk/about.html

Halldór Úlfarsson (IS) & Max Lilja duo, https://www.halldorophone.info/about/, http://maxlilja.com.

[ówt krì] & Lauri Peltonen, http://www.owtkri.org/

Niels Lyhne Løkkegaard (DK), http://www.nielslyhne.com/

Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir (IS), http://www.bergrun.com/about

Ava Grayson (CAN), http://www.aigrayson.com/

Ana Gutieszca (MEX), http://www.anagutieszca.com/

Esa Kotilainen, https://fi.wikipedia.org/wiki/Esa_Kotilainen

Petri Kuljuntausta, http://kuljuntausta.com

Heikki Lindgren, http://akusmata.com/heikki-lindgren/

Mikko H. Haapoja, http://mikkohaapoja.net/

Jukka Andersson, http://akusmata.com/jukka-andersson/

Jaakko Autio, https://jaakkoautio.wordpress.com/


«