Jarno Tikka (b. 1986) is a Finnish jazz musician and composer. His main instruments are
tenor saxophone, flute and ewi. His main groups are Alder Ego, OK:KO, Thinkeries Potbelt,
Teemu Åkerblom Quartet, Jesse Ojajärvi ON PUU, Mikko Sarvanne Hip Company and Mikko
Sarvanne 3 + 3. He can sometimes be heard in larger groups like UMO and Ricky Tick Big Band.
He is a proud winner of Young Nordic Jazz Comets competition 2016.
Jarno Tikka has graduated from Metropolia University of Applied Scienes in 2013 with a
Bachelor of Music degree. In 2013 he continued his studies of jazz music in a masters program
at Sibelius Academy jazz department. He has studied and shared stage with many
international important figures like Joe Lovano, Tivon Pennicot, Jerry Bergonzi, Will Vinson, Jeff
Tain Watts and Terrell Stafford.
His most important musical influences are Charlie Parker, Dexter Gordon, John Coltrane, Juhani
Aaltonen, Duke Ellington, Thelonius Monk, Charles Mingus, Igor Stravinsky, Philip Glass, Jean
Sibelius, Magnus Lindberg, Nina Simone, Gil Scott-Heron, J Dilla, Madlib and MF DOOM. Like his
idols Tikka wants to take lots of risks, put the notes in best possible order and touch people’s
hearts. He loves uncommon combinations of intervals, musical communication, colours and the
tone of tenor saxophone. He thinks like a vocalist and his main goal is to make his instrument
sing with a most beautiful tone he can create.