SÄHKÖKITARAKVARTETTI is a fresh Helsinki-based electric guitar group concentrating on contemporary/experimental compositions. The group aims to bridge the imaginary gaps between sound art, experimental music, contemporary composition and improvisation.

Musicians: Juhani Grönroos, Lauri Hyvärinen, Jukka Kääriäinen, Sigurdur Rögnvaldsson.

Thanks to Arts Promotion Centre Finland and Finnish Music Foundation for support.

In Akusmata the quartet premiered three new compositions for four electric guitars, written specifically for the occasion:

Clara de Asís: Everyday less, less everyday
James Andean: be-mai peligei
Ilia Belorukov: post hoc ergo propter hoc

‘Everyday less, less everyday’ explores special tunings, lowercase tones and harmonic interference in three gradual transitions.

‘be-mai peligei’ also works with non-traditional tunings, but involves processual interaction between performers, room and gestures.

‘post hoc ergo propter hoc’ is based on repetition of one pitch and four different click tracks.