Cracklebox Band

Cracklebox is a touch and pressure sensitive device that squeeks and makes noises when played with. The history of Cracklebox starts from the late-1960s, when Michel Waisvisz designed and built the very first Crackle circuit together with Geert Hamelberg. Today STEIM center still builds the Crackle boxes.

Cracklebox Band is a group of composers and sound artists who gather together to perform with Crackleboxes. At ASF the Cracklebox musicians are Juhani Liimatainen, Juhani Nuorvala, Sami Klemola, Petri Kuljuntausta, Antti Auvinen, Taina Riikonen, Johanna Puuperä.